Gas

~Gas~
 
 
People scatter and flee in fear
as sirens ring and buildings fall.
The whistling missiles, deafening screech
as limbs are scattered from wall to wall.
 
 
Laughter of children, now forgotten,
turned to screams from a panicked face,
for these are the sounds that surround our existence,
the unheard song of this hell-like place.
 
 
The demons, they near, with their acidic claws,
so we must flee to escape their grasp.
We’ll hide in here – so in we pile,
but then I sense it within my gasp.
 
 
I slam the door to this minuscule room
my crying baby within my embrace,
I look to my wife who is huddled in front,
my heart, it cracked, from the look on her face.
 
 
The phosphoric scent slips through the cracks,
I hold back the tears and take her hand.
Time is short as reality strikes,
an empty hourglass and its grains of sand.
 
 
My baby, now quiet, with shallow breathing,
stirs in discomfort and winces in pain.
Oh, how I would give my life, my child,
to never see you hurting again.
 
 
My eyes, now misty, look to my wife,
and I smile softly as our foreheads touch,
we had so much to do and so much to live,
“I want you to know that I love you so much.
 
 
Don’t cry, my beloved, for this is our fate,
in heaven I’ll meet you and get on one knee.
Your beauty, still blinding, will again take my heart,
and so I will pray that you’ll again marry me.
 
 
We’ve been abandoned, the World has grown silent,
our land, destroyed, and now left to burn,
but worry not, my beloved, because from God we came,
and now it is back to Him we return.
 
 
I love you.”
 
 
“I love … you… t…”
 
 
 
(By Naziyah Mahmood – a heartbroken last-encounter of a mother, father and their newborn child who were gassed to death a few days ago in Syria.)
 

Warning: Graphic Image.
A mother, father and their newborn. No where to run, no where to hide, they lay there on the cold floor while they took their last breath.
This is the story of the struggle for freedom.”

– Photograph from Wipe The Tears
 
Please click the first link to see the image.
 
(I’m very sorry if this has upset or disturbed anyone as this was not my intent, but I’m posting this because it’s something that I believe the world does need more awareness about.
Unfortunately, I don’t think WordPress has the option for me to put a graphic warning on the image beforehand, however, I know that many might find this too much to bear. so I’ve added a link to it instead.
 
 
I understand that this is a very, very heavy topic, but the world needs to know.
I broke down in tears when I saw this image too, and I couldn’t believe that mankind is letting this senseless slaughter go on.
 
Most of all, my apology goes to my brothers and sisters who are suffering. I’m sorry that we haven’t been able to stop your suffering or do more… our hearts, tears and spirits cry for you.
I’m sorry…)

5 thoughts on “Gas

Leave a comment