Martial Arts – Article by Community Martial Arts News

Hello again!
I apologise for my long silence (for anyone who may visit my page from time to time), I just seem to have been caught up in more things that usual lately.

In September, I had the pleasure of being interviewed by Gareth Davies for the online Welsh Martial Arts Magazine – Community Martial Arts News.
I consider myself a novice in the field of martial arts, but it was such an honour to have had this article published by Gareth, who had contacted me after finding one of my sword photos online (as mentioned in the article).

Article: Naziyah Mahmood – Community Martial Arts News

The passage speaks a bit about my martial arts history, a bit about my own life, and about Sensei too.
I realise that some parts are a little muddled, but the gist of it is there! (I just hope it doesn’t come across in an arrogant way, as I truly do see myself as a novice!)

Thanks to Charles Hamilton and Fiona Brims for allowing CMA to use their photos of me, and to Gareth for turning what should have been a twenty minute phone interview into a two hour bout of hilarious banter between us!

11 thoughts on “Martial Arts – Article by Community Martial Arts News

    • Hi Colleen!
      That’s so sweet of you, thank you for your lovely comment!
      I’m hoping to start writing again now, though it may still be on and off, but I look forward to it!

      Loving the new look of your page, can’t wait to go through your writing too =)

      I feel like I’ve got loads to catch up on since I’ve been away for a month or so! Many of my fave bloggers (including yourself) have put up plenty to keep me busy with reading 🙂

  1. Greetings!

    I came across the article at random via a facebook page. After reading the entire article I was speechless and had to share it with my Sensei, as well as tag his martial artist wife, and my training partner and best friend so they would see it. What you have to say and feel so beautifully exemplifies what my Sensei teaches and instills in his students, and your passion and love is inspiring. We are a small dojo hiding in Southern Oregon in the United States, and consider ourselves one big family of crazy people, who just love to get together to share and learn.

    I look forward to looking at more of your site, especially because I love to write, and look forward to viewing your work.

    • Hi Timothy!

      Thank you for your wonderful comment! It was such a pleasure to read 🙂
      Your words are so very kind, and although I don’t feel as though I deserve them, it is such an honour and priviledge to have received them.

      Seeing that you are surrounded by people who share in the passion and love for the arts is so wonderful, and I wish you all the very best in all of your future adventures and endeavours!
      Your dojo sounds wonderful 🙂

      Also, the crazier the martial arts family, the better!! I don’t think there was a day when my Sensei wasn’t at least 80% insane (in the best way possible!)

  2. Salaam! Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I think I read that you trained in Olympic fencing? Which weapon did you fence with?

  3. Salaam! Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but I think I read that you trained in Olympic-style fencing? Which weapon did you fence with?

Leave a Reply

