Making or Breaking

masks

 

(Written for the Daily Post: Daily Prompt – Handle with Care: How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty?)

 

If you wish to go far, expect a few bumps along the way.

I’d like to think that I am the kind of person who can appreciate some good ‘constructive criticism’, as I’d hope that the intentions behind the feedback sprout from genuine concern and care.
It is something I’d hope to learn from, as feedback can help us to improve ourselves.

It is the equivalent of a mother telling her child “You can’t go to school wearing that muddy shirt”.
It is a wife telling her husband “Dear, I think the other tie would look better”.
It is a teacher telling his student “Well done, you did well, but maybe if you worked a bit on your grammar you’d get a higher mark”.

Intentions.
The difference between what can be Constructive Criticism, and what can become Destructive Criticism.

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you can tell that the person giving you their ‘opinion’ or ‘feedback’ is doing so purely out of spite or to feed their own ego?

“Your poem was awful, because I don’t agree with it. You’ll never be good enough”.
Words that can, eventually, break a person as opposed to helping them.

I personally would like to hope that I could take on some negative feedback in order to better myself and my skills, however if I was to find that someone was doing so purely to put me down… well… I’d think that their words would say more about them than me.

If you wish to go far, expect a few bumps along the way.
There will always be critics ready to fire from behind the safety of their computer screens, but if you want to be something, expect them along the way… It would be a rather quiet journey without one or two, no!?

“To avoid criticism – do nothing, say nothing, BE nothing” Elbert Hubbard

Nahhhh… I think I chose to be ‘something’.

 

 

© Naziyah Mahmood, 2014
(Image taken from hqdesktop.net)

2 thoughts on “Making or Breaking

  1. Criticism can hurt and that is not constructive. In music you have to realize that not everyone is going to like your work. There are some pieces of Mozart that even I don’t like but there are a lot I do. That doesn’t make him a bad composer, in fact he is a great composer. I had a flute instructor who used to see all the good things I accomplished and she taught me so much. Everyone is terrible when they are learning an instrument. When you focus on the good then you become better. When you focus on the bad you tend to give up.
    Leslie

  2. “My desire (to search for Allah Ta’ala) is the result of
    Someone’s Kindness.
    These feet do not lift up they are lifted up.
    O My Bondsmen, your fear and your love of Me is a gift from
    My side
    It is the attraction of My Grace and Mercy,
    In your every ‘Ya Rab, Ya Allah
    My Labbaik is included. “I am present”.
    The soul of an ignorant one is deprived of this Zikr and dua’a
    And he is not blessed towards saying ‘Ya Rab, Ya Rab”.

    Do not take world and other emotions related to this world, or you will lose Him. Which other thing and even human is more sweeter to think than your beloved. Only birds of like feather flock together.

Leave a Reply

