Call of the Clyde

Port Glasgow

The mists that veil your towering mountains, envelope my mind;
a mother’s embrace.
The colours that paint on your canvas of valleys, nourish my spirit;
prisms of light.

The winds that carry your tales and melodies, caress my heart;
enchanting whispers.
The rivers that write of your boundless strengths, fortify my will;
a shield of hope.

I hear your call, your beckoning voice, each day when I am afar;
my dearest.
I feel your pull, your ethereal touch, beseeching for my return;
“come home”.

Within me you shall always remain as a beacon of love, a compass;
my freedom.
To you, I belong, like a leaf from your branches, a child of the Clyde;
your flower.

Oh land of the brave… I am a warrior… your thistle.

Image and Poem © Naziyah Mahmood, 2014

5 thoughts on “Call of the Clyde

    • Hi Colleen 🙂
      Yup, good ol’ bonny Scotland!
      Oddly enough it has nothing to do with the independance voting taking place on Thursday!
      I’ve been meaning to put this up for a while!

      Beauty of the Highlands never ceases to captivate me 🙂

      Hope you’re well, sweetie 🙂

  1. Utterly beautiful. I have Scottish roots (great grandparents). You just transported me to somewhere I’ve never been.

Leave a Reply

