Whispers of the Sunrise

salah

Deepest slumbers, gently nudged, by the softest voices of my travelling conscience;
“Awaken, my sweet, come to prayer, come to salvation”
The words rolling through the skies, over the hills of atonement.

Fading moon, rising sun, light kisses on their mutual passage through time;
“Cleanse your soul, illuminate your being, I am waiting”
A gap in the dawn, veiled by the radiance of His Majesty and Grace.

Silent struggle, standing tall, ascending towards self purification;
“Spiritual cleansing, physical ablution, absolved from worldly bounds”
An incandescent aura, emanating from every limb and every motion.

Open soul, intimate words, a liberation through prostration;
“Free yourself, share your tears, I am here”
An elevated state, reached through the humbling gestures of adoration.

Rising up, heart content, facing the day with a reinforced hope;
“I am with you, I have always been with you, and always will be”
Sweet whispers of the sunrise that ready me for my lifelong journey.

“…I am here”

© Naziyah Mahmood, 2014
(Image taken from road2jannah.com)

 

(It’s a bit late, but this is written as part of the Daily Post: Daily Prompt – New Dawn: How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).)

3 thoughts on “Whispers of the Sunrise

  1. Hello Naziyah. You seem to have lead an interesting life. I had to check out your blog after a friend showed me some of your beautiful portraits and and made me aware of your various accomplishments. Having done so, I was hoping you wouldn’t mind answering some questions for me. I am very curious about how you walk a fine line between many worlds. 🙂
    Having read some of your work, from my understanding you believe in the Quran, please correct me if I am wrong. You also have a masters in physics, so I’m assuming you are well aware, more so than me likely, of scientific methodology and the importance of evidence when discerning what is truth. So here is what I am wondering, how do you balance the contradictions between your faith and the findings in science that contradict the Quran? Also, how do you know without a doubt that your interpretation of the Quran is the correct one? I am certainly no expert on the Quran, nor physics, so I don’t presume to know more than you on the matter. I only ask these things to better illuminate what I find to be a logical conundrum.
    I am not anti-spiritual. Personally I do think there is a god, but to me it is more likely that god, by the nature of omnipotence, is both everything and everyone and is therefore not limited to the notion of an entity with its own mind. So far for me the most logical definition of God is love, and the closer I am to this force the happier I am. That means being ever compassionate and ever loving. My reasoning for all of this is long and arduous and perhaps wrong, and it would take a long time to divulge. I simply wanted to share my basic views because I want you to know I do not wish to judge or reprimand you. I only seek to understand what appears to be a dichotomy, that of your faith and your love for science. Thank you Naziyah, I hope you are having a wonderful day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

