Shakespeare and Popeye!

Image

(Written for The Daily Post: Daily Prompt – Picky Tongues: you have to choose one flavour that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose?)

Ok, so the image may be referring to the wrong kind of ‘Olive’, and I may not be a Sailor Man, but the bitterness of olives is something I could easily live without.

Although I don’t mind its oil counterpart, olives are probably one of the few foods that I will not eat (I’m not a picky eater… I think!)

I am known to my friends and family as the ‘Cookie Monster’, ‘Sugar Addict’, ‘Sugaraholic’ and so on; names which reflect my extreme sweet-tooth, and as such I could never part with the blessing that is the taste of sweetness! God forbid the thought!
My good friend, William Shakespeare, once wrote “Parting is such sweet sorrow that I shall say goodnight till it be morrow.”
If it’s sweet, then I wouldn’t mind! Throw on some sprinkles and I’m set.

Apparently, bitterness is the most sensitive of tastes – a good explanation as to why a bitter mouthful can often leave even children contorting their faces into the most impossible of shapes (I know I still do).

Analogous to happiness and hurt; sweetness and bitterness have their own importance in life.
The sweetness of happiness allows us to smile, however, without the bitterness of hurt we’d never be able to recognize what sweetness truly is.

Hmmm… maybe Popeye found a sweetness in olives that I have yet to discover.
I shall ask him the next time we set out on a knuckle-busting adventure!

(Image taken from http://www.comicbookmovie.com)

One thought on “Shakespeare and Popeye!

  1. Pingback: Pungency | Prairie Views

Leave a Reply

