“I ate Granny!”

Image

(Written for The Daily Post: Daily Prompt – By the Dots: We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!)

Punctuation (or the lack of) – The all-defining factor of our grammatical skills, and the reason for many misunderstandings that are brought on by our rushed text messages and emails.
The reason why
“I ate, granny!” can make a world of a difference from
“I ate granny!”

Each mark of punctuation carries its own significance and cause, however, if I were to decide on which ‘one’ punctuation mark is used most often then it would probably be the ‘comma’.

I have a tendency to overdo it with scribbling down the little flick of a mark, everywhere that I can, and yet I’m probably most notoriously known for my shameful abuse of the exclamation mark!!!

Do I use it as a display of my overall excited and hyper demeanour?
Could I have the Exclamation-Infatuation because I like to create emphasis on my opinionated statements?

Whatever my reasons may be, I realise that in using these ‘techniques’, I am in some way expressing myself in the way I wish to – so too bad for all of the critics!
This post is riddled with punctuation errors, and yet without them you wouldn’t be able to get to know the real me!
(Of course, had this been a professional report, I’d have to de-clutter the post and make it a little more presentable!)

“I like cooking people and dogs!”
[Insert comma where you feel necessary… or not!]

9 thoughts on ““I ate Granny!”

    • That’s the beauty of it!
      If writing is an art, and if art is self-expression, then we should be able to write in any way that we feel works for us regardless of what others say 🙂

  1. Pingback: Synchronicity Turns 50 | Synchronicity

  2. Pingback: Punctuation And Misfits | It's Mayur Remember?

    • Thank you, Amrit, you’re very kind 🙂
      I’ve left the conclusion to my post up to my readers!
      I don’t really cook people and dogs, but hey, the imagination can do crazy things! Haha!

Leave a Reply

