The Greatest Failure

Image

 

We had run in circles, burning a ring through the Earth, in this endless quest in blindness;
Atonement.
A tome worth of scripts have left my fingers bleeding in my attempt to save what I once loved.
A ghost.

Cheated, lied, betrayed – repeat offense – and yet this foolish heart could form no hatred;
Pain.
I cried, I bled, all to see your soul set free from the demonic chains that now bound it firmly;
Sin.

Decades past in my efforts for your salvation, but I know only He can truly unbind your soul;
Redemption.
I was left a mere shadow of my former self – you had drained my every breath, my every piece;
I was undead.

Broken under your weighted burdens, I finally flew out of that bird cage door, my home with you;
My prison.
Yet, the hope inside still lives on that one day, pray, you will awaken from your comatose state;
Paralysis of self.

The greatest failure, they say, is the failure to try – the title to the book on your false devotion;
Denial.
‘Meet me half way’ to you existed not, my dear, yet I tore my arms in reaching for you;
Your sloth.

‘Reach for me’, ‘dust yourself off and try again’, the whispers of my heart and mind fell deaf;
Selfish?
No. For had there been true meaning, a reason, you wouldn’t have just said, but would have done;
A road to success.

© Naziyah Mahmood, 2014.

(Image taken from http://bittersweetvenom.deviantart.com)
(Also shared on http://poetreecreations.org/2014/07/05/the-greatest-failure-promote-yourself/ )

Leave a Reply

