Once upon a dream

Once we’d meet in a world untouchable,
Unreachable by the fastest of ships.
A land with no bounds, no rules, no reality;
Yet you were real, I was real, and our souls intertwined
In that cosmic realm that we call dreams.

Once I stood strong at the edge of my cliff,
A sea parting me from the edge of your own.
The thundering waves beneath were to us, so placid;
We could see, we could feel, but no sound would propagate
Yet you would awaken with my whisper upon your tongue.

Once I would leap from rooftop to rooftop,
In search of your arms, your touch, your smile.
In the depths of the caves I would find you in waiting;
The moment I’d longed for, so surreal it would seem
That finally the journey had ended, we were home.

Once I awoke from a dream in my dream,
Finding us together in a room filled with light.
We were whole, we were one, together at last;
The purity of our union, bathed in the illumination of deep devotion
A lifetime cherished in those moments of peace.

Once I was broken, just a vessel called ‘Me’,
You were gone, so I died, and yet still I breath.
I may not live, but survive as the undead clutch to hope;
Each grain of the sands of time teasing at my existence
As my every wound heals but scars me for eternity.

Now I awake from a long and dreamless sleep,
Into a dream in which you return in a search for repentance.
I run to you not, instead, I flee – I soar higher;
A double edged knife slides passed to cut us both
For my realisation of freedom means I have now let you go.

…Once upon a dream, you haunted my nightmares.
You now have no power in my realm.

© Naziyah Mahmood, 2014.

4 thoughts on “Once upon a dream

  1. Pingback: Freudian Flips | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. I was recommended this web site by way of my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether this post is written by way of him as nobody else know such exact approximately my problem. You are wonderful! Thank you!

    • Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

      I’m not sure who your cousin is (it was very sweet of them to recommend my page!) but I thank them for their share!

      The poem was written in regards to some of my own experiences, though I know it is something that many people can relate to – I hope that you are well, and that your experiences in life get better from the feelings behind that poem too.
      Keep hope for that better tomorrow 🙂

      Best wishes,
      Naz

  3. Assalaamu ‘alaykum.
    No matter how much we train in our lifetime, no matter how strong we make ourselves inside and out. There will still be those that we let into our heart, and there will always be pain from blades we could not deflect.
    AlHamdulullah, for the tests and trials we are gifted with in this life. He (subhanah t’ala) will not burden a soul with more than it can handle. Allah wants for us the best.

    – Tony

Leave a Reply

